Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Chicago Restaurants
By Cuisine
By Styles
Restaurants A-Z
Chicago Dining Guides
User Reviews

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Mr. Beef

View Map 666 N Orleans St., Chicago
Tel: (312) 337-8500
Mr. Beef Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
15 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Mr. Beef Review


  • cabbie dan says:
    On Saturday 3/13/10 11:25 AM
    I heard they were going to close it up Is that why theres no current reviews

  • jan says:
    On Monday 5/26/08 12:11 PM
    MR.BEEF IS FABULOUS!! A NEIGHBOR TOLD US ABOUT THEM..AND NOW WE ARE VERY REQUENT CUSTOMERS!!!

  • D Morris says:
    On Monday 12/17/07 8:39 PM
    Best beef sandwich in the Chicagoland area! The beef is never fatty or chewy. My family always orders beef by the pound for family parties. It's the best! Keep up the good work, Mr Beef!

  • Jason aka RAMBO says:
    On Tuesday 10/30/07 4:58 PM
    I have been eating at Mr. beef faithfully for 6 years now at least twice a week. Been to Boston, Al's, Portillo's, and more. But no one could compare to that great taste and fast service. You can be in and out in 3 minutes when Al's can't even get the order right, and Portillo's has 100 workers that don't know what the hell is going on. To all who have not tried it go try it, and people who complain the hot peppers aren't hot it is true, but they are great. When you stop in tell them Rambo sent you they will take good care of you.

  • Tom says:
    On Thursday 4/5/07 5:59 AM
    Dude you must have absolutely NO taste buds or you work for Johnnies beef. Mr. Beef is not bland and theres obviously a good reason why their beef is so famous...becasue it's GREAT. Theres so much flavor in the beef itself you dont even need peppers.

  • Paul says:
    On Tuesday 12/6/05 12:07 PM
    Having grown up on beef sandwiches in the suburbs, the legend of Mr. Beef always hung over as "the best beef sandwiches around." Finally, at 35, I was in the neighborhood, so I finally tried one, and I can honestly say, it was one of the worst beef sandwiches in the world. The hot peppers were not hot in the slightest, adding further to the overall bland sandwich. What a let down. This place must be resting on reputation, because the product would disappoint anyone. Go to Johnnie's in Elmwood Park for truly the best beef.

  • Marc Gelfond says:
    On Sunday 11/13/05 9:01 AM
    The food is excellent! Grab your food, lotsa napkins, and eat!

  • Lil' Beefy 1 says:
    On Sunday 1/9/05 6:41 PM
    The Original Mr. Beef on Orleans was sold in 1981, typo below states sold in 1961.Sorry

  • Lil' Beefy 1 says:
    On Sunday 1/9/05 6:19 PM
    The Original Mr. Beef, former owners of the Mr. Beef on Orleans,is now located in Homer Glen, Il. (Lockport). This is the only place you will enjoy the one of a kind flavor of a Mr. Beef sandwich. (the fries are to die for, also)!!! The originals sold their establishment at 666 Orleans in 1961. So, for those of you eating downtown, you're not having a REAL Mr. Beef. If you're ever in the neighborhood, come on in and have the one and only. Located at 14318 S. Will-Cook Rd. Homer Glen, Il. 1-708-645-0456.It will be well worth the trip, no matter where you're coming from.

  • Andrew Bolnick says:
    On Friday 12/10/04 5:44 AM
    No one can compare to the taste of Mr Beef. It is by far the best there is. I agree Al's is the best of the bunch but in no way can it compare to the flavor of Mr. beef. I too had an office in the Mart in the 70's and the #1 thing I miss most about Chicago is a beef sandwich from Mr. Beef. If only I could get it shipped to me.

There are more than 10 reviews. View page: 1 [2]

Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Mr. Beef website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix