Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Chicago Restaurants
By Cuisine
By Styles
Restaurants A-Z
Chicago Dining Guides
User Reviews

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Orange Garden

View Map 1942 W. Irving Park Rd., Chicago
Tel: (773) 525-7479
Orange Garden Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
18 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Orange Garden Review


  • Rich says:
    On Tuesday 2/24/09 12:57 PM
    I've lived in the neighborhood for about ten years now and have never had a bad meal there. Consistently good meals, heaping portions, fantastic egg rolls. I vary the take-out and eat-in and the eat in service is top-notch. Try the Shrimp Lo Mein or Sesame Chicken. Order extra egg rolls, you'll want them.

  • anonymous says:
    On Tuesday 12/30/08 9:30 PM
    This is the best Chinese takeout in the city of Chicago! The atmosphere is nothing spectacular, it's been around since the 50's, but for takeout it is fabulous. Very flavorful and the quality of the meat is excellent. The chicken is all white meat and the beef is very tendor. The orange chicken is the best!

  • Margaret says:
    On Saturday 11/15/08 9:36 PM
    If you are looking for healthy, haute cuisine, this is not the place. There is NOTHING prete tious about Orange Garden. If, however, you are just looking for good food (maybe the kind you grew up on) at a fair price, this is it. The best place I've found on the north side.

  • Chad says:
    On Sunday 11/9/08 4:43 PM
    Tasteless! The egg rolls were fine (and large), but our two meals had nothing going for them other than their size. The veggie lo mein and the tofu dish were bland. We had to keep dumping the hot sauce on to make it interesting. It wasn't just that it wasn't hot despite the tofu dish being labeled as such, but neither dish had much flavor at all. The tofu was soft and soggy and the sauce was watered down. That doesn't seem authentic to me. The service was fine.

  • Liz says:
    On Saturday 2/23/08 5:27 AM
    Disgusting. Absolutely appalling quality, gristly meat and fatty, grainy sauces coating it. I stopped in because it was across the street from my workplace and didn't know the neighborhood--I'll never make that mistake again! I'd sooner go hungry than eat there again. The food was amazingly bad, and though the service didn't suck, the prices were steep, considering that the food was only barely edible.

  • Michael says:
    On Thursday 2/8/07 6:14 PM
    MORE CHICAGO MEDIOCRITY...

    consistently bad and unimaginative (god forbid there actually be oranges in the orange chicken). doughy where wanting to be crispy, overcooked to rid any semblance of freshness, oversauced yet lacking in flavor...how this place has been open since 1920 whatever is a mystery...I gave this place three chances and will never go back.

  • Vegas Vic says:
    On Monday 1/15/07 1:44 AM
    Good people, good food - isn't that what Chicago is about?

    I always get their egg rolls. They're substantial but not heavy or greasy.

    Everything is cooked just right, never under done, never over done. They can make stuff Cantonese or US style with skill not 'tude.

  • Sam says:
    On Thursday 12/21/06 5:46 PM
    My favorite place for Sesame Chicken!

  • LINDA says:
    On Sunday 12/3/06 10:43 AM
    IVE BEEN COMMING TO CHICAGO FOR OVER 30 YEARS EATING AT ORANGE GARDENS THEY HAVE THE BEST EGG FOO YOUNG I'VE EVER HAD. LINDA

  • Jenn says:
    On Friday 6/2/06 4:17 PM
    Honestly, this is hands down the best Chinese I've ever had; and it would take more than $5 to get me to write this. Personal favorites: THE EGG ROLES, Pot stickers, General G chicken, fried rice and sweet and sour chicken. You can order anything though and be satisfied.

There are more than 10 reviews. View page: 1 [2]

Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Orange Garden website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix