Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Bookstores
RELATED INFO
Libraries
Who's Who of Words
Shop Amazon Books

Wordy Articles

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

After Words Books

View Map 23 E. Illinois St., Chicago
Tel: (312) 464-1110
View Website
After Words Books Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
10 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own After Words Books Review


  • erydymd says:
    On Wednesday 2/29/12 11:28 AM
    Jgh6pD itgozfzsqkfu

  • Dian says:
    On Thursday 2/23/12 11:24 AM
    Thank You so much for revnewiig my book. I have perused your blog and I enjoy the way you blend many different themes. I will look even closer when I can take a breather from my tour. Thank you again.- Sarah.

  • Jesus says:
    On Friday 2/3/12 12:00 PM
    Its got the bible and thats good enough for me.

  • Keith says:
    On Friday 4/9/10 5:56 AM
    Most of the used books to be found at After Words are significantly overpriced. In most cases, used copies in similar condition can be found for a fraction of the price at Amazon, etc.

    Despite the store's impressive size, the selection of quality titles is surprisingly small. Moreover, the store's stock and display choices reveal a decidedly leftist ideology. (To be fair, I can't say whether this ideological bent reveals the staff’s/owners' views or the views of a hipster clientele whose ignorance prevents them from securing gainful employment, resulting in their being forced to hock the beloved socialist tomes they collected in college.)

    Bottom line: After Words is a great place to shop if you're looking for some Naomi Klein or Noam Chomsky and don’t mind paying through the nose for it.

  • Yesenia says:
    On Tuesday 12/29/09 7:24 PM
    I love to come here during my lunches from work. So many books and only an hour to browse. The place is extremely tidy and there is such a wide range of books. The employees are friendly and I can't wait for the weather to lighten up some so I can go again soon.

  • John says:
    On Friday 9/25/09 1:06 PM
    Aside from a good collection of books, I appreciate that unluck other sued books stores in Chicago, Afterwords is clean and organized.

  • Ramzy says:
    On Wednesday 8/26/09 11:20 AM
    The staff and the manager are very rude, disrespectful and dishonest. If you go in, you will see for yourself. They never smile. They are greedy. They do not accept refunds. The place has no inventory. The books are overpriced.

  • jill says:
    On Monday 6/23/08 4:12 PM
    I am from Canada and have lived in Chicago several times, each for about a month at a time. I found this store on my first visit and I kept going back each time. The staff is amazing, the books are always in great shape and they are never to busy to help you find that wanted work of literature or suggest something you would enjoy.

    Jill Cook

  • abdelilah Saadi says:
    On Tuesday 4/13/04 5:08 AM
    Hello Audrey,

    I would like to ask you if you do have an Ameriacn Anthology of literature and there is also two Novels, which I would like to Have: The first one is the Great Gatsby by Scott Fitzgerald and the second one is the The one by Arthur Miller The death of the selsman. Thank you and looking forward to receiving a response Ciao

  • Aurdey says:
    On Wednesday 8/6/03 3:11 PM
    I spent all day looking for this book. I called all the chain stores, all the used bookstores, and finally called this one. They ahd the edition I needed, at half the price Amazon would have charged me. It was great!



Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL After Words Books website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix