Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Chicago Restaurants
By Cuisine
By Styles
Restaurants A-Z
Chicago Dining Guides
User Reviews

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Athar Restaurant

View Map 149 N. Addison Ave., Elmhurst
Tel: (630) 530-8418
View Website
Athar Restaurant Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews Deals
8 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Athar Restaurant Review


  • stephan says:
    On Wednesday 10/26/11 2:27 AM
    Visit Madison Restaurant Review to see a Madison metro area site with detailed reviews and pictures with at least 1 new restaurant review each week.

  • PI says:
    On Monday 3/6/06 1:05 AM
    Athar is one of the best establishments in the western suburbs! The owners take a personal interest in everyones needs and this gives a very friendly and warm atmosphere. I have been there several times and continue to go back time and time again. The bar is always well stocked, the service is very good and even when it's busy. The owners help out all the time. The free warm pita and humus is always a delightful treat and the food is served with great presentation. The live entertainment (belly dancers) gives the place a great ambiance and the prices are very reasonable. The place has become better than ever because the owners care so much about their customers and make changes to better suit their growing customer base! Eat at Athar's see it for yourself, don't believe the negative lies you will walk away with an enjoyable experience!

  • E. Liro says:
    On Wednesday 3/1/06 12:02 AM
    I would have to disagree with these bottom couple comments. I have been into Athar several times and never had a problem with the service or any of the food. I even go on friday nights with out a problem when it has been packed with the belly dancer there and everything was still exquisite. The owners are excellent people who are very pleasant and friedly. Nobody should pay attention to these couple false comments below. It is definatly an excellent restaurant that everyone should go and check out.

  • Tom Phillips says:
    On Monday 1/2/06 9:17 PM
    A great balance of ethnic food, attentive service and plate presentation. The manager made sure our needs were met and even prepared a special order. He also was friendly and courteous.

  • D. Martin says:
    On Monday 1/2/06 9:09 PM
    We were visiting family in the area for the holidays and decided to dine out one evening. My wife researched area restaurants on line and L'Athar was within walking distance. The minute we walked in, we were greeted by the host and seated immediately. The service was outstanding and the food was the best we've ever had! We will always plan to visit when in the area.

  • E. Dawood says:
    On Monday 12/26/05 11:44 PM
    We so enjoyed our experience at L'Athar. The food was absolutely delicious and the decor was beautiful. The service was 1st rate. We have travelled extensively and have eaten in some of the finest restaurants. L'Athar is a hidden gem...we will certainly visit often.

  • J.J. says:
    On Monday 2/28/05 10:12 AM
    I won't be going back to Athar. Though I had a Saturday night reservation, the hostess seemed startled when I arrived for my table. While being seated she told us that they were expecting a large group in 1 1/2 hours. After we ordered, we were told that we would have to leave by 9:00 P.M. Basically, theye were going to kick us out! This would be bad enough but the service was slow and awfull, we weren't even served until almost 8:45!! Plus, they tried to stiff my friend by charging the more expensive price for a bottle of house wine. They didn't have some of the items ordered (how can they not have filet?) and gave less than appealing substitutes. Total of 4 shrimp in the shrimp & pasta dish. They were quite rude when I told them I was displeased that I was not informed when making my reservation that we would have to leave by 9:00. This was not a pleasant dining experience and I was embarassed that I selected it.

  • Wendy W. says:
    On Monday 7/26/04 9:41 PM
    Athar Restaurant has an interesting décor and friendly and attentive waitstaff. The menu is simple, fairly standard Mid East/Mediterranean fare, but it is delicious! (The Lebanese carrot soup is fabulous.) They do have a full bar, and the wine selection is good. Two can eat for $30-40 (without alcohol). Warm pita and delicious hummus is served with every dinner entré. Even better: Saturday evenings feature a belly dancer. Great food, great service, and live entertainment. What more can you ask for? (A village parking lot is right across the street, and a good thing, as street parking is very limited.)



Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Athar Restaurant website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix