Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Bars & Clubs
By Styles
A to Z
Nightlife Guides
User Reviews

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Louie's Pub

View Map 1659 W. North Ave., Chicago
Tel: (773) 227-7947
View Website
Louie's Pub Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews Deals
8 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Louie's Pub Review


  • Rob Miller says:
    On Saturday 4/17/10 2:50 AM
    Your site is very useful.

  • H-Bomb says:
    On Tuesday 10/20/09 5:13 PM
    I was in Chicago on business a couple of weeks ago and went to Louie's for an evening of karaoke on a Wednesday night. I had chosen Louie's based on favorable online reviews, and I chose wisely! The KJ, Erin, provided the best customer service I've ever received at a karaoke bar. When I requested a song that wasn't in the book, she went online and immediately purchased and downloaded it; and just a few minutes later, when my turn came up in the rotation, I was singing it. I sing karaoke all over the world, and no KJ has ever done that for me before. It was an example of how she made a visitor feel comfortable and welcome. I had an awesome time. Good crowd, too.

  • Dave says:
    On Wednesday 8/12/09 6:26 PM
    Louies just updated EVERYTHING!(including Sister Christian!) They have a new sound system that and speakers which makes a big difference in hearing people sing. They installed party spotlights for when hosts sing and firthdays and stuff. But what's really cool is that they updated their song database, and have practically everything...and if they don't have it, they can search for it for you. Everything is just so much better... not having to look up your song number is a plus too. Louie's- THANK YOU for all of the improvements! You ROCK! best place for karaoke EVER!

  • JOhn says:
    On Sunday 4/5/09 8:55 PM
    Me and my girls go there all the time. I think all of the hosts are good. All of them are awesome singers and really get the crowd going. I don't mind if they sing because I know a few of them, and know that singing is part of their job. You can't get mad at them for doing their job....and as for fishing for tips, well- just tip them then. Saturday nights are awesome because you get the guy with the dred locks and one of the girl hosts singing. I like it when the crowd gets into it and they're not just focused on people in their groups singing. It's more fun when everyone is clapping nad cheering for everyone. It's just a fun place to be. Cheap drinks and free popcorn is a plus.

  • Alice says:
    On Monday 3/30/09 7:35 AM
    Louie's Pub is a neighborhood bar; not very big, very close, cash only and a lot of regulars. They don't serve food but they let us order pizza from Piece up the street. The popcorn is very good by the way. As for the karaoke, the song book is ok, not much recent, and we had the girl hostess. She fished for tips all night and sang too; when people are paying to drink for hours and want to sing, I don't want to hear her. I could see if the people singing were picking slow songs but they weren't. Anyway, it was a fun time, lots of TVs and I bet if you go when the guy with the dreadlocks hosts, it's awesome karaoke.

  • Rebecca says:
    On Sunday 12/28/08 11:30 PM
    I think this place is THE BEST karaoke spot in Chicago! I've been hanging out at this place for years. Awesome crowd- yes, it's busy on Fri and Saturdays- but that is what makes it fun! The more rowdy the crowds get, the more fun it is, becuase let's face it- we all want an audience! The DJ's are all powerhouse singers too- the owners make them sing throughout the night in order to "keep the party going." Sometimes people pick a lot of slow songs, and the DJ's have to jump in there and kick things up a notch. Some folks get ruffled about that, which is stupid, because if you're there to have fun, then you will rock out with the DJs! The DJ Erin on Saturday and the doorman Hawk sing together and totally bring the house down! Tipping does help you move your song along, but hey- that's life. pay to play. These DJ's work hard for their money... Sometimes I get to sing more than others. It just depends on the night, and how many requests are in. Regardless, it's always a party. You just have to be patient on weekends and wait it out...get there early and turn in all your songs, so the DJ can space them out throughout the night. (and being nice to the DJ's helps too.) You can also order-in food from anywhere. My fav is ordering Piece Pizza down the street and bringing it in. Tues Weds are great nights to chill and sing for a smaller crowd. You sing more on these nights, plus they have a $1 schlitz, so you can get wasted on ten bucks. It's the "Place Where Friends Meet!"

  • Kim says:
    On Saturday 5/6/06 1:30 PM
    Louies is one of my fav's to hang out at. It has friendly ppl and always happening. Love the music selection and great drink speicals...Karaoke is best here

  • jill Blardinelli says:
    On Wednesday 4/5/06 9:03 PM
    Louie's is an awesome and hip place for karaoke. Great songbook and hostess, friendly people. I'd highly recommend it.



Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Louie's Pub website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix