Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Bookstores
RELATED INFO
Libraries
Who's Who of Words
Shop Amazon Books

Wordy Articles

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Amaranth Books

View Map 828 Davis St., Evanston
Tel: (847) 328-2939
View Website
Amaranth Books Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
15 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Amaranth Books Review


  • iwwnxhi says:
    On Thursday 1/24/13 10:15 PM
    v51Sqb , [url=http://fcqqxgwnvldk.com/]fcqqxgwnvldk[/url], [link=http://qbrzkftlkbmj.com/]qbrzkftlkbmj[/link], http://yttaydnfihiw.com/

  • hhawmztq says:
    On Wednesday 1/23/13 6:57 AM
    pjMDaG , [url=http://vjtmdqupttgx.com/]vjtmdqupttgx[/url], [link=http://glqsdnyvgrtt.com/]glqsdnyvgrtt[/link], http://xxqujvdlpfes.com/

  • ziydtxikzpi says:
    On Tuesday 1/22/13 4:07 AM
    pScosJ uzgoagtpdtnr

  • Savvi says:
    On Monday 1/21/13 4:39 PM
    I just want to say I just want to say that I love you lol but no seriously your pin cooltceiln is awesome! The annual passholder and the mickey/walt one. Eeyore is great! I love your Dumbo cooltceiln and the Stitch there is cute I have a goal of getting 626 Stitches, I am up to around 100 so far, they are all on a vest. I might make a video, but possibly not since I've never made a video that actually has me in it but maybe someday. My pins aren't organized though except for my Stitches,

  • Rob Miller says:
    On Thursday 1/20/11 12:22 AM
    cool site

  • Billy says:
    On Tuesday 9/7/10 1:13 PM
    This store was great! I found 3 things that I never thought I would find. And the owner was able to find me a very rare book that I have always wanted at a great price. He was the sweetest man to me. I dont' see him as being rude at all. He is quiet and reserved, but never never rude. Because he is not bubbley, you may take it the wrong way. But don't call him rude!

  • Sue says:
    On Wednesday 2/24/10 2:17 PM
    I just read some other reviews, and my impression is that this owner would NEVER throw a book around unless he is tossing it out. As for handicapped people, perhaps the handicapped person is generalizing based on one incident which is not described, and if it were, its objectivity could be questioned.

  • Sue says:
    On Wednesday 2/24/10 2:07 PM
    I was walking in Evanston while waiting for a friend to finish their appointment. I thought I'd go to Borders, but only generally knew where it was. I was near the YMCA and turned east on Davis, a block north of the Y.

    When I saw this bookstore, I decided to take a look. I spend about 2 1/2 hours there and ended up with 3 books. All the books I looked at were just about in pristine condition (they can't all be pristine, because they are "used). For sure their insides were.

    There were some quite unusual Bibles, evidently not RARE, but unusual, such as beautiful Revised Standard Version in a handy size with black bonded leather and gilt edges, and a wonderful New Jerusalem Bible in a size that opens great for reading as it was wider than it was high. And so on.

    And the store is clean, orderly, quiet, peaceful. I was left alone to browse, so I had time to carefully pick my books.

    If you are looking for something on a used book website, you might also contact this bookstore to see if they have it first. If they do have it, you would get a book in great condition.

  • Aaron Baker says:
    On Friday 7/11/08 1:24 PM
    Small but excellent used bookstore. Literature and history are strengths. Not a lot in Classics (i.e. Greek and Latin), but you'll occasionally find something very good in that area if you're attentive. I also don't recognize the hostile, rude invididual that some posters have mentioned above. In my experience, the owner's reserved but unfailingly polite. Also, the books tend to be in very good condition.

  • Yink says:
    On Monday 4/14/08 5:20 PM
    I don't recognize the proprietor from the descriptions posted on 8/13 and 8/14. I visit this store frequently and have nver seen the proprietor behave in any way that could be called rude or insensitive. (He is more formal than would suit some people's taste, I would grant.) And where in the world did they get the bit about "bent covers"? The books in this establishment are in excellent shape.

There are more than 10 reviews. View page: 1 [2]

Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Amaranth Books website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix